Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



16 May 2022 07:06:23 PM

Officials of the House of Representatives and the Senate discussed in a Monday hybrid meeting, the remaining issues in their preparations for the canvassing of votes for the presidential and vice presidential candidates in the 2022 national elections. The canvassing would be done from May 24 to 27, 2022 at the House of Representatives. In an online meeting, the House officials led by Secretary General Mark Llandro Mendoza discussed the issues with Senate officials led by Senate Secretary Atty. Myra Marie Villarica. Among the matters tackled were the transfer of the ballot boxes containing the Certificates of Canvass (COCs) and Election Returns (ERs) from the Senate to the House in the early morning of May 23. House Deputy Secretary General for Legal Affairs Atty. Annalou Nachura said the House will make space for the COCs and ERs. The 1987 Constitution provides that the President of the Senate should, not later than 30 days after the day of election, open all the certificates in the presence of the Senate and of the House in joint public session. It was discussed that the Consolidation and Canvassing System (CSS) machine will be transferred from the House Legislative-Executive Lounge to the Plenary Hall on May 24 prior to the joint session. The CCS machine initialized last May 9 by Senate President Vicente Sotto III and Speaker Lord Allan Velasco will receive the COCs from the provinces, cities and overseas. Secretary-General Mendoza said that on May 24, the canvassing will take place starting at 2pm, while from May 25 to 27, the canvassing will last from 10am to 10pm. Meanwhile House Committee on Rules Technical Staff Chief Jeff Baquiran discussed the proposed scenario for the Opening of the Joint Session and the Draft Rules for the Canvassing. Other House officials present were Committee Affairs Department (CAD) Secretary-General Atty. Arlene Dada-Arnaldo, Inter-Parliamentary and Public Affairs Department (IPAD) Deputy Secretary-General Atty. Gracelda Andres, Finance Department Deputy Secretary-General Dante Roberto Maling, Legislative Information Resources Management Department (LIRMD) Deputy Secretary-General Dr. Edgardo Pangilinan, Engineering and Physical Facilities Department Deputy Secretary-General Engr. Floro Banaybanay, Sergeant-at-Arms BGen. (Ret.) Rodelio Jocson, Press and Public Affairs Bureau (PPAB) OIC Executive Director Dr. Celine Marie Buencamino, and Inter-Parliamentary Relations and Special Affairs Bureau (IPRSAB) Executive Director Lourdes Rajini Rye. Other Senate officials present included Senate Sergeant-at-Arms MGen Rene C Samonte AFP (Ret.), and Deputy Secretary for Legislation Atty. Edwin Bellen. / Rowena Bundang, Alvin Loria, Ma. Antonio Gabriel III and Edward Ortiz, NDS-MAPRS-PPAB