Back to Top


On the fourth Monday of July of every year, the two Houses of Congress convene for their regular session. Signifying the start of another year of law making, the opening of Congress is an important event, marked by the President's State of the Nation Address.

The only officers of Congress required by the 1987 Constitution are the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Both the Senate President and the House Speaker are elected by a majority vote of all the members of their respective Houses. However, as provided in the Constitution, each House shall choose such other officers it may deem necessary for the proper operation of the institution. It is important to remember that Congress can only be properly organized once the officers for both houses have been chosen.



The Congress shall convene once every year on the fourth Monday of July for its regular session, unless a different date is fixed by law, and shall continue to be in session for such number of days as it may determine until thirty days before the opening of its next regular session, exclusive of Saturdays, Sundays, and legal holidays. The President may call a special session at any time.

The Senate shall elect its President and the House of Representatives its Speaker, by a majority vote of all its respective members.

Each House shall choose such other officers as it may deem necessary.


Sergio Suico Osmeña was the first Speaker of the First Philippine Assembly. Elected in 1907 at the age of 29, Osmeña is the youngest ever to become Speaker, and the longest to have held the Speakership. He was Speaker from 1907 to 1922, for a total of 15 years.