Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau

House approves “Campus Safety and Security Act”
10-January-2017, 04:07:07 PM

The House of Representatives has approved on third and final reading a bill seeking to mandate universities and colleges to create a Safety and Security Council (SSC) to protect the students and other members of the academic community from theft, robbery, rape, and other forms of violence within and outside the campus.

House Bill 4100 or the proposed “Campus Safety and Security Act” directs the establishment of the SSC in every higher learning institution and technical-vocational institution to ensure the safety and security of students and other members of the academic community.

The SSC shall carry out programs, policies, and activities that will protect the academic community from internal and external threats.

Among the primary duties and responsibilities of the SSC is to recommend to the school, college, or university the conduct of seminars and trainings on crime and drug prevention and control in coordination with the National Police Commission (NAPOLCOM) regional office, local police station, or the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG).

It shall also undertake programs and policies concerning the following: use and sale of alcoholic beverages; enforcement of underage drinking laws; possession, use, and sale of illegal drugs; enforcement of drug laws; and a description of any drug or alcohol abuse education program.

The composition of the SSC shall be determined by the governing boards of the higher education institutions (HEIs) and the owners, proprietors, and/or administrators of the technical-vocational institutions.

House Bill 4100 is a consolidation of House Bill Nos. 572 and 2314, authored by Rep. Bellaflor Angara-Castillo (Lone District, Aurora) and Rep. Evelina Escudero (1st District, Sorsogon), respectively.

The lawmakers’ bills mandate HEIs and technical-vocational institutions to ensure the safety and security of the academic community from internal and external threats by creating a crime prevention committee for this purpose and for other purposes.

The House committee on higher and technical education, chaired by Rep. Ann K. Hofer (2nd District, Zamboanga Sibugay), spearheaded the passage of the measure.

The bill is co-authored by : Hofer, Reps. Arlene Arcillas (1st District, Laguna), Lorna Bautista-Bandigan (Lone District, Davao Occidental), Jose Christopher Belmonte (6th District, Quezon City), Aniceto Bertiz III (Party-list, ACTS-OFW), Winston Castelo (2nd District, Quezon City), Jonas Cortes (6th District, Cebu), Julieta Cortuna (Party-list, A-TEACHER),Manuel Jose Dalipe (2nd District, Zamboanga City), Maximo Dalog (Lone District, Mountain Province), Sarah Jane Elago (Party-list, KABATAAN), Jose Enrique Garcia III (2nd District, Bataan), Greg Gasataya (Lone District, Bacolod City), Jocelyn Limkaichong (1st District, Negros Oriental), Carlito Marquez (Lone District, Aklan), Victoria Isabel Noel (Party-list, AN WARAY), Marisol Panotes (2nd District, Camarines Norte), Rene Relampagos (1st District, Bohol), Mark Aeron Sambar (Party-list, PBA), Federico Sandoval II (Lone District, Malabon City), Jose Antonio Sy-Alvarado (1st District, Bulacan), Jose Tejada (3rd District, North Cotabato), Arnolfo Teves (3rdDistrict, Negros Oriental), Renato Unico (1st District, Camarines Norte), Divina Grace Yu (1stDistrict, Zamboanga del Sur), Marlyn Primicias-Agabas (6th District, Pangasinan), Edward Maceda (4th District, Manila), and Raul Del Mar (1st District, Cebu).