Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



17 December 2019 04:30:46 PM

The House of Representatives, through the Committee on People's Participation chaired by Rep. Florida "Rida" Robes (Lone District, San Jose Del Monte City), in partnership with the National Economic Development Authority (NEDA) and the Philippine National Volunteer Service Coordinating Agency (PNVSCA), hosted on Monday the awarding ceremony for the Outstanding Volunteers 2019. The 10 awardees are Aliah Alam (Individual-Youth Category), Dr. Zsa-Zsa May Meneses, Joel Dela Costa and Engineer Cristeta Gallano (Individual-Adult Category), Soroptimist International of Mandaluyong (SIM) and the University of La Salette Inc. High School (ULSHS) (Non-Profit Organization Category), Barangay Poblacion, Burgos, Ilocos Norte, Mandaluyong City, and Municipality of La Trinidad, Benguet (Special Award for LGU-Category), and Dr. Romulo Davide (Volunteer Lifetime Achievement Award-Category). In her welcome speech, Robes said the awarding ceremony is part of the National Volunteer Month during which House Members have the opportunity to express their appreciation for the significant roles performed by volunteers in nation-building. Meanwhile, Speaker Alan Peter "Compañero" Cayetano, in his Keynote Speech delivered by Rep. Macnell Lusotan (Part-list, MARINO), thanked the awardees and their fellow volunteers for making a difference and serving the nation and the Filipino people as well. "Let us recognize these volunteers for their sacrifices—for setting their sights beyond the material comforts of home; for donating their time and resources; and for their untiring efforts to uplift the community," the Speaker said. Other government officials present at the event were Reps. Eufemia Cullamat (Party-list, Bayan Muna), Solomon Chungalao (Lone District, Ifugao), and Ria Christina Fariñas (1st District, Ilocos Norte), NEDA Undersecretary Jose Miguel dela Rosa, La Trinidad, Benguet Mayor Romeo Salda, Mandaluyong City Mayor Carmelita Abalos, PNVSCA Officer-in-Charge Corazon Macaraig, House Committee Affairs Department Deputy Secretary General Atty. Arlene Dada-Arnaldo and House Committee on People's Participation Committee Secretary Dr. Rolando Cronico.