Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



14 August 2019 03:24:19 PM

During the plenary session on Monday, four House Members were additionally elected as Deputy Speakers, they were: Reps. Deogracias Victor Savellano, Vilma Santos-Recto, Mujiv Hataman and Michael Romero. Rep. Ria Fariñas was elected Deputy Majority Leader while Reps. Niña Taduran, Onyx Crisologo, and Alyssa Sheena Tan were elected Assistant Majority Leaders. Meanwhile, the chairpersons of the following committees were also elected: Rep. Shernee Tan-Tambot (Globalization and WTO); Rep. Erico Aristotle Aumentado (Science and Technology); Rep. Malou Acosta-Alba (Women and Gender Equality); Rep. Raymond Mendoza (Overseas Workers' Welfare); Rep. Junie Cua (Banks and Financial Intermediaries); Rep. Dale “Along” Malapitan (Poverty Alleviation); Rep. Jesus Suntay (Human Rights); Rep. Lucy Torres-Gomez (Disaster Management); Rep. Ma. Lucile Nava (Population and Family Relatons); Rep. Eliza Kho (Rural Development); and Rep. Rogelio Pacquaio (East ASEAN Growth Area). Among those who delivered privilege speeches were Rep. Bayani Fernando who tackled the mounting problems in Metro Manila, including traffic and transport problems, and Rep. Jose Atienza, Jr. who spoke about what can Filipinos do to help the President in his declared war on drugs. He was interpellated by Reps. Robert Ace Barbers and Edgar Erice. Majority Floor Leader Ferdinand Martin Romualdez ensured the day's plenary tasks were done. The session was presided by Deputy Speakers Johnny Ty Pimentel and Ferdinand Hernandez./ Caption by Rowena B. Bundang/ Photos by Perfecto Camero/ News and Documentation Section-Press and Public Affairs Bureau/ House of Representatives of the Philippines