Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



05 June 2019 12:19:13 PM

The House Committee on Transportation, chaired by Rep. Cesar Sarmiento (Lone District, Catanduanes), on Tuesday adopted House Resolution 2532, principally authored by former President and now House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, urging the Philippines Ports Authority (PPA) to stop collecting weighing fee from big rolling cargoes using ports catering to roll on/roll off (RORO) vessels. Other authors of the measure are Reps. Manuel Zubiri, Bayani Fernando, Peter Unabia, Roger Mercado, Yedda Marie Romualdez and Jose Carlos Cari. The adoption of HR 2532 highlighted the last day of meeting of the committee before the House adjourned sine die its Third Regular Session of the 17th Congress. With Sarmiento in the meeting were Deputy Majority Leader Rodante Maroleta, Deputy Minority Leader Anthony Bravo, Committee on Transportation Vice Chair Bayani Fernando (District, Marikina City), Reps. Rozanno Rufino Biazon (Lone District, Muntinlupa City), Johnny Ty Pimentel (2nd District, Surigao del Sur), Romeo Acop (2nd District, Antipolo City), Ronald Ang (Party-list, Ako Bicol), Pepito Pico (Party-list, DIWA), and Jose Tejada (3rd District, North Cotabato). Representatives of the PPA, Department Transportation (DOTr), Land Transportation Office (LTO, Land Transportation Franchising and Regulatory Board (LTFRB), Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA), Maritime Industry Authority (MARINA), Philippine Coast Guard (PCG), Civil Aeronautics Board (CAB), Philippine National Railways (PNR), National Economic Development Authority (NEDA), National Council on Disability Affairs (NCDA), Provincial Bus Operators Associations of the Philippines (PBOAP), Association of International Shipping Lines (AISL), Alliance of Transport Operatots and Drivers Association of the Philippines (ALTODAP), and the Motorcycle Philippines Federation were also present during the hearing./ Caption by Ma. Victoria Palomar / Photos by Gilbert Manalo / News and Documentation Section-Press and Public Affairs Bureau/ House of Representatives of the Philippines