Back to Top


SOURCE: Press and Public Affairs Bureau



07 August 2018 08:34:25 PM

Former President and now House Speaker Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo on Tuesday joined the meeting of the House Committee on Constitutional Amendments with members of the Consultative Committee that drafted a Federal Constitution that was earlier submitted to President Duterte and leaders of Congress. The committee chaired by Rep. Vicente S. E. Veloso (3rd District, Leyte) discussed with ConCom members in a closed-door session about how to convince the Senate to convene in a constituent assembly. Prior to the executive meeting, Veloso stressed that the House and the Senate must discuss proposed changes together in the Con-Ass, though the two chambers will still vote separately. He said the Con-Ass was vital because procedures must first be agreed upon by both the House and the Senate before the substance of the proposed provisions can be explored. Arroyo herself favors the House and the Senate voting separately on charter amendments. Among those who attended the meeting were Reps. Alfredo Garbin Jr., Arnolfo Teves Jr., Joseph Stephen Paduano, Wilter Wee Palma II, Manuel Sagarbarria, Alfredo Benitez, Magnolia Antonino, and Lawrence Fortun. ConCom members present in the executive meeting include former Senate President Aquilino Pimentel, Jr., Conrado Generoso, Edmund Tayao, Susan Ordinario, and Arthur Aguilar. Pecto Camero / Czarina Engracia